The Asian Media Awards has become an annual event I thoroughly look forward to for a number of reasons; the calibre of nominees all gathered together in one room, the lavish spread and of course the networking opportunities!

This year’s awards, held at the Hilton in Deansgate, didn’t disappoint. The world of journalism, television, radio and PR once again gathered to celebrate the successes of their peers and of course to glam up on a Thursday evening!

I decided to go with a different take this year and attempt a vlog… it was probably the most difficult thing I’ve done! From ensuring my battery was charged sufficiently, to getting comfortable talking in front of a camera by myself, I don’t think I did too badly!

Another reason I love this event so much is the people and the fact that it’s possible to strike a conversation up with people you admire and adore. For me that was Nina Hossain, the host for the night, and Nitin Ganatra, winner of the Best TV Character category. Both of whom I also got a snap with.


One category I pay special attention to is best blog. Jay Shetty took the award for this, which was very much deserved. I’ve come across his work in the last year and have to say, I’m hooked! He commands attention and is very clear in his messages and furthermore, so many people connect with him which is one of the most important things you would want as a blogger.

So enough babbling, below is my very first vlog, as well as the full winners list below.


Best Blog: Jay Shetty

Best Website: Sister-Hood.Com

Publication of the Year: Asian Wealth Magazine

Best Video Channel: Rahim Pardesi

Best Live Event: Asian Network Live

Best Stage Production: Wipers (Written by Ishy Din and directed by Suba Das, Curve Theatre / Watford Palace Theatre. Performed by: Jassa Ahluwalia, Waleed Akhtar, Sartaj Garewal and Simon Rivers)

Media Professional of the Year: Anjna Raheja

Media Agency of the Year: Media Hive

Creative Media Award: #WhatIReallyReallyWant Campaign (Sterling Media)

Best TV Programme/Show: Murdered by my Father (BBC Studios for BBCWritten by Vinay Patel, Director Bruce Goodison, Producer Toby Welch, Executive Producer Aysha Rafaele. Starring Adeel Akhtar, Kiran Sonia Sawar, Mawaan Rizwan, Salman Akhtar, Reiss Jeram,  Ambreen Razia.)

AMA Best Newcomer: Ambreen Razia

TV Channel of the Year: Star Plus

Best TV character: Nitin Ganatra (Masood Ahmed in Eastenders)

TV Report of the Year: The Asian Women Stopped from becoming Councillors (BBC Newsnight Reported by Katie Razzall with producer Yasminara Khan)

Best Radio Show: Bobby Friction (BBC Asian Network)

Regional Radio Station of the Year: Sunrise Yorkshire

Radio Presenter of the Year: Yasmeen Khan

Radio Station of the Year: Sunrise Radio

Regional Journalist of the Year: Arif Ansari

Outstanding Young Journalist: Kaamil Ahmed

Best Investigation: ISIS The British Women Supporters Unveiled (Reported by Poppy Begum with undercover reporter ‘Aisha’. Produced by Jo Potts. Hardcash Productions for Channel 4)

MMU and Routes into Languages Journalist of the Year: Kim Sengupta (The Independent)

Outstanding Contribution to Media: Shelley King

Media Personality of the Year: Fatima Manji

Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film Award: Art Malik